The Fastest Man in Rugby League!

posted on 28 June 2010

The sport of Rugby League has many world class athletes so all fans of the game will be delighted to know that the Fastest Man Sprint will again be centre stage at this year’s Carnegie Floodlit 9s on Wednesday August 25 at Headingley Carnegie Stadium in Leeds.

All those who witnessed last year’s thrilling cavalcade of speedsters as they swept the length of the Headingley pitch will expect a similar treat in August.

Despite the presence of Kevin Penny of Warrington Wolves and Peter Fox of Hull Kingston Rovers and England it was the Leeds Rhinos teenage prodigy Jamel Chisholm who took the honours and in so doing secured the special trophy and winner’s prize money.

Event Director Neal Coupland said: “The aim is to find rugby league’s fastest player and as 2009 illustrates it will not necessarily be a Super League or International star.

“Teams taking part in the 9s will no doubt again be holding internal sprints in order to identify their fastest player.

“The sprint on Nines Night is a thrilling spectacle and adds greatly to the occasion.”

Event Co-director Lionel Hurst added: “The sprint concept is very topical as Rugby League in the Southern Hemisphere is also making plans to find its fastest player.

“No doubt at some point there will be a world challenge to decide the global outcome.”

Meanwhile fans wishing to make advance purchase are being offered some fabulous savings on normal entry prices.

Turnstile prices have been set at £15 for Adults and £5 for Children under 16 and Concessions for the summer evening spectacular. A Family of 4 [2 adults and 2 Children] can pre purchase a ticket for just £20 saving £20 or 50%. With the same offer a family of 3 [2 Adults and 1 child] save £15 while 2 adults on their own would save £10 or 25%. Fans wishing to make an advance purchase can do so via the Headingley Box Office or through the box office at participating clubs.

The latest information about the Carnegie Floodlit 9s can be found on


Notes for Editors:

Previous winners:

Huddersfield Giants 2008 [Leroy Cudjoe Player of the Tournament]

Hull FC 2009 [Craig Hall Player of the Tournament]

The race to find Rugby League’s Fastest Man will also be held on the evening

Previous Winner: Jamel Chisholm – Leeds Rhinos 2009, Kevin Penny – Warrington [Runner up 2009]

Last year’s race and 9s highlights can be seen on:

Share this Page

Wakefield Wildcats Shirts