posted on 7 November 2011

Wakefield Trinity Wildcats are delighted to inform fans that two former players have been nominated for the first ever Rugby League statue at Wembley Stadium.

The RFL has announced the long list of nominations for the proposed statue that will celebrate Rugby League’s long and colourful association with the national stadium.

The Wildcats have two former players in the line up to receive this fantastic honour: Neil Fox and Don Fox.

Don Fox was a huge talent and firmly remains a heroic figure at Wakefield Trinity, with whom he won the Lance Todd Trophy as Man of the Match at Wembley in 1968. His place in Cup history is assured from that final, when he missed the last-kick conversion that would have won the game for Wakefield.

The younger brother of Don and Peter, Neil Fox scored a phenomenal 6,220 points during a career that took in six clubs, most notably Wakefield Trinity. A strong, powerful centre, his two tries and seven goals helped Trinity to victory over Hull at Wembley in 1960

Fans across the UK and overseas have been invited to cast their vote for the subject of the statue, which will stand outside Wembley in homage to a sporting link dating back to 1929, when the stadium hosted the Challenge Cup final for the first time

The 10 strong list, which is by no means definitive – the public can make their own suggestions, features some of the sport’s greatest stars, all of whom have their own unique link with Wembley, a stadium which has played host to countless memories for millions of Rugby League supporters.

“I’m sure everyone who has ever attended a Rugby League match at Wembley, including the thousands at the stadium for the double header, will have their own opinion on who should represent the sport at this evocative venue,” said RFL Chief Executive Nigel Wood.

“We want to hear the views of as many people as possible because it is important the whole Rugby League family, from fans and players to coaches and administrators, are consulted over this special venture.”

The long list in full is Billy Boston, Jonathan Davies, Shaun Edwards, Don Fox, Neil Fox, Ellery Hanley, Alex Murphy, Martin Offiah, Clive Sullivan and Lance Todd.

To vote for Neil or Don, any of the 10 players short listed, or to submit your own nomination, simply click HERE and vote via an on-line poll. Votes can also be placed via any of the RFL’s official Facebook channels.

Vote now to see a Trinity Legend recieve the ultimate honour!

This is Wakefield. Together We Are Stronger.

Share this Page

Wakefield Wildcats Shirts