posted on 1 June 2013

The Wildcats failed to get going as Wigan produced an outstanding display in an 80-0 victory at the Rapid Solicitors Stadium.

Captain Corbyn Kilday could not stop the Wigan domminance.

The visitors opened the scoring in the first few minutes after Ryan Hampshire and Lewis Tierney combined to put Chris Taylor through to score.

Minutes later Hampshire helped extend the Warriors lead as his great kick was picked up by Gabriel Fell who went over in the far right hand corner to double Wigan’s lead.

The Warriors really then started to find their top gear as a great off load from Joe Burgess in the corner allowed Michael Scrivens to score and make it three unanswered tries for Wigan.

The next score was arguably the try of the game and it came through an excellent solo effort from Connor Farrell, as he ran through four Wakefield players to score under the posts to see the score go to 18-0 to the visitors.

Two great offloads from Hampshire and Rhys Pugsley put Robert Lever through who ran 25 metres of the field and extends the visitors lead by a further six points.

Wigan’s Farrell managed to inflict more damage to the Wildcats as he single handily created two further tries just before half time.

His two great off loads saw Joe Burgess and Luke Waterworth score as Wigan took a 34 point lead into the break.

The second half saw the Warriors pick up where they left off as an impressive individual try from George Williams saw the Warriors take a 40 point lead.

The Warriors would go on to dominate the second period which was mainly dominated by Hampshire who bagged himself a brace and also set up Lewis Tierney’s try and Fell’s second try of the game, which saw the score race to 62-0.

The Damage did not end there for the Wildcats as Grant Beecham also went over for the visitors and the afternoon was rounded off with William’s completing his hat trick scoring the last two tries of the game.

Those late scores made the final score 80-0 to the Wigan Warriors at the Rapid Solicitors Stadium.

Wildcats: 1. Curtis McDonald 2. Jamahl Hunte 3. Sam Doherty 4. Brandon Conway  5. Tom Johnstone 6. Scott Lee 7. Mitch Vincent 8. Ben Shulver 9. Josh Murphy 10. James Healy 11. Tom Rogers 12. Jack Walton 13. Corbin Kilday. Interchanges: 14. Danny Maskill 15. Reece Trout 16. Jack Teanby 17. Luke Metcalfe.

This is Wakefield. Together We Are Stronger.

Share this Page

Wakefield Wildcats Shirts