posted on 24 March 2014

The first members of the Wakefield Trinity Hall of Fame will be inducted at a dinner on Saturday 10th May at the Rapid Solicitors Stadium.

David Topliss will be among the first players to be inducted into the Wakefield Trinity Hall of Fame.

A panel including club historian, Lee Robinson, have chosen six players to be immortalised in the Hall of Fame with supporters to be given the opportunity to choose a further two to have the honour of being the first inductees at the inaugural dinner that is being sponsored by Thwaites Brewery.

Players must match at least one of the following criteria to be considered for the Hall of Fame:

-          Minimum of 100 games for the club

-          Been retired from the game for 10 years or more

-          Won a Championship or Challenge Cup with the club

-          Have earned international honours

Each player will be acknowledged with a plaque in the Legends Suite at the Stadium as well as their own memento for themselves or their family representative for players that have passed away.

The players to be inducted are:

Neil Fox MBE

World Record Points scorer and member of the RFL’s Hall of Fame. He holds numerous club records with his totals of 574 appearances, 272 tries, 1,836 goals and 4,488 points in two spells for Trinity.  He was part of the golden era in the 1960′s which saw three Challenge Cup victories, two RL Championships and three Yorkshire Cups.

Jonathan Parkin

Parkin held Trinity together throughout the 1920’s virtually single handed. He debuted in 1913 and went onto captain Trinity, Yorkshire, England and Great Britain as well as touring with the Great Britain Lions on three occasions, captaining them on the last two in 1924 and 1928. He was also an inaugural inductee into the RFL’s Hall of Fame in 1988.

Harold Poynton

Poynton is one of only four Trinity players to win the Lance Todd Trophy at Wembley (1963) as well as eleven winners medals in the great era of the 1960’s. He was captain when Trinity won their first RL Championship in 1967 and repeated the effort, lifting the trophy as captain in 1968. His skills at stand-off also saw him tour Australia with the 1962 Great Britain Lions.

David Topliss

One of the greatest players to have worn the red, white and blue in the last forty years. Another Trinity Lance Todd Trophy winner (1979) and Great Britain international and tourist (1979), his skills and try scoring ability was often the saviour of Trinity in the 1970’s. His 195 club tries are second to only Neil Fox in the club’s history.

Derek Turner

Turner was one of the greatest captains in the club’s history having led the club to ten trophies and three other finals in his seven years at the club. He was also a Great Britain international regular being named vice-captain of the 1962 Great Britain Lions tour ‘Down Under’ in 1962

Harry Wilkinson

One of the greatest club men in the history of the club, Wilkinson served Trinity consistently for almost twenty years as a player, playing in 618 first class games between 1930 and 1949, an all time club record. His on-field skills also earned him Yorkshire and England caps in addition to a 1946 Challenge Cup winners medal.

Supporters will be able to choose another two players from a list compiled by the panel to be among the first inductees at the dinner which will be attended by players past and present as well as fans.  The list of players and how supporters can vote will be revealed on the Wildcats website later this week.

Supporters can book for the three-course meal for £35 per person or £300 for a table of ten by visiting the Rapid Solicitors Stadium Box Office or the Ridings Centre Store.  Please note that the Stadium Box Office is not open at weekends.

Supporters can also book by calling 01924 201548/211611.


Share this Page

Wakefield Wildcats Shirts