posted on 4 April 2014

Voting is now open for supporters to choose the two players that will join in the six inaugural inductees of the Wakefield Trinity Hall of Fame.

Herbert Goodfellow is one of those on the fan vote shortlist.

The inaugural Hall of Fame dinner will be held on Saturday 10th May with Neil Fox MBE, Jonathan Parkin, Harold Poynton, David Topliss, Derek Turner and Harry Wilkinson all selected to be among the very first players to be inducted.  Supporters are being given the opportunity to vote on two further players to join that illustrious list.

Tickets for the dinner, which will be attended by players past and present and is sponsored by Thwaites Brewery, are already proving popular priced at just £35 per person or £300 for a table ten and includes a three-course meal.  Tickets can be booked via either of the clubs retail stores or by calling 01924 211611.

Ian Brooke, Mick Exley and Don Fox have already been named on the shortlist and today we reveal the remaining six names which supporters can vote for between now and April 20th.

Herbert Goodfellow

Goodfellow was one of Trinity’s greatest scrum-halves in the club’s history. Sharlston-born, he played 434 games between 1933 and 1951 and picked up a 1946 Challenge Cup winners medal in 1946 aswell as Yorkshire and England caps.

Bob Haigh

Haigh was an all-action second rower and played 250 games between 1962 and 1970. He played in the Championship winning sides of 1967 and 1968 aswell as touring ‘Down Under’ for the 1968 World Cup.

Bill Horton

Horton was fourteen years a Trinity player (1924-38) and lies fourth on the all-time appearance list with 441, playing for Yorkshire, England and Great Britain along the way. He also toured twice with the Great Britain Lions ‘Down Under’ in 1928 and 1930 and is the club’s most capped county player.

Don Robinson was a Great Britain international in the 1950s and one of the youngest ever forwards to wear a Trinity shirt. His skills and try scoring abilities saw him gain various representative honours and the club’s first World Cup winner when Great Britain won the trophy, in France, in 1954.

Trevor Skerrett

Skerrett was one of the greatest forwards in Trinity’s modern day history. He was inspirational in helping Trinity reach Wembley in 1979 and gained Wales and Great Britain caps aswell as touring Australia with the 1979 Great Britain Lions. He played 203 games between 1974 and 1980.

Ken Traill

Traill was Trinity’s ‘Master Coach’ in the 1960s and led the club to thirteen trophies in an eight year spell (1960-68). He started the 1960s with three RL Challenge Cups (1960, 1962 & 1963) before re-building the team and winning two RL Championships (1967 & 1968).

Supporters can vote in a number of ways.  Simply visit either our Ridings Centre Store or Stadium Box Office to complete a voting form, email or tweet @WTWildcatsRL and use the hashtag #WTWHallOfFame


Share this Page

Wakefield Wildcats Shirts