posted on 16 November 2015

Over the weekend, Wakefield Trinity Wildcats revealed the squad numbers for 2016.

Head Coach, Brian Smith has given his squad their shirt numbers for 2016 ahead of pre-season training. Smith has handed Tom Johnstone squad number two, this comes after the 20-year old broke into the first team from the Academy last season and made 12 appearances, scoring nine tries.

New signing Ben Jones-Bishop will wear shirt number one whilst Ashley Gibson takes the number four shirt and Liam Finn slots in at number seven to partner with scrum-half Jacob Miller who retains the number six for 2016.

Scott Moore who made his move to the Wildcats’ permanent a few weeks ago has been handed the number nine whilst Anthony England will wear the number 10.

Johnstone has spoken about his shock of being handed the shirt number two saying, “I am absolutely over the moon, and I didn’t expect it at all. I just came into pre –season to do my best and to be rewarded with that is amazing and I am very happy with it.

“I didn’t expect what has happened over the last season to go as well as it has done, there have been some ups and downs with it but I think I am getting there now and I am starting to get the hang of things.”

Johnstone who started pre-season training last week has now been joined with the remainder of the squad, “It’s been good to get back into the flow of the things with the rest of the lads, it is going to be tough but we are getting there. Everyone is back now so we can crack on and get some work done” he continued.

Here's the squad numbers in full:

  1.  Ben Jones-Bishop
  2. Tom Johnstone
  3. Bill Tupou
  4. Ashley Gibson
  5. Richard Owen
  6. Jacob Miller
  7. Liam Finn
  8. Nick Scruton
  9. Scott Moore
  10. Anthony England
  11. Mickael Simon
  12. Danny Kirmond
  13. Anthony Tupou
  14. Reece Lyne
  15. Jordan Tansey
  16. Tinirau Arona
  17. Matty Ashurst
  18. Joe Arundel
  19. Jonny Molloy
  20. Mikey Sio
  21. Max Jowitt
  22. Jordan Crowther
  23. Scott Anderson
  24. Stuart Howarth
  25. Craig Hall
  26. Chris Annakin
  27. Anthony Walker
  28. Andy Yates
  29. Sean Morris
  30. Ben Shulver


Share this Page

Wakefield Wildcats Shirts